July 8, 2020

Lynq Sports

bet on it

Injury Time Winner denies Fire Draw On In Seattle

Injury Time Winner denies Fire Draw On In Seattle

By Tommy O’Callaghan


A brace including an injury-time winner from Jordan Morris broke Chicago Fire hearts at Century Link Field on Sunday in the opening weekend of the 2020 MLS season. With Fire leading 1-0 after the 46 minutes, the prolific striker’s impact from the bench was enough to give the reigning champions all 3 points.

After a tame first half, the Fire came out of the blocks at the start of the second half and took an unlikely lead in the 46th minutes – Đorđe Mihailović with the deftest of touches after a long direct ball from Álvaro Medrán set up striker Robert Berić to score on his Chicago Fire debut beating Sounders keeper Stefan Frei on his near post.

The Sounders kicked into gear after Berić’s opening and thought they had equalised in the 56th minute when Christian Roldan got on the end of a Jordan Morris cross only for VAR to have adjudged Morris being in an offside position – a relief for the Fire!

Seattle did find their equalizer 6 minutes later when Morris and Roldan linked up once again for this time it was Morris who tapped in at the far post after Roldan’s cross in – The Fire’s defence looking unconvincing.

It looked as if the Fire were going to do enough to get a point against the 2019 MLS champions until Morris find the net again in the 3rd minute of injury-time after’s Roldan headed flick-on found Morris once again at the back post to give Seattle all three points.

Raphaël Wicky can take plenty of positives away from the defeat in the Seattle with new signings, particularly Robert Berić getting on the scoresheet on his Fire debut. However, Wicky will need to address the defensive frailties on show in Seattle ahead of next Saturday’s trip to New England Revolution. 

Seattle Sounders (4-2-3-1): Frei, Leerdam, O’Neill, Arreaga, Jones, Delem, Leyva, Roldan, João Paulo, Ibarra, Ruidíaz.

Chicago Fire (4-4-2): Kronholm, Bronico, Kappelhof, Calvo, Bornstein, Frankowski, Medrán, Pineda, Mihalović, Berić, Herbers.